Made with turkey from Good Shepherd Poultry Ranch • Tampa, KS

If you’re like me, you really do appreciate where your food comes from. I mean, let’s be honest. I can’t drive five miles without seeing some kind of farm animal! My dad, uncle, and granddad raised cattle and had a turkey hatchery for crying out loud.  I’ve always been aware of my food and a little too aware when I’m standing downwind of a cow pie… But, as a working mom, loyal wife, blogger, teacher and small business owner, it’s easy to get sidetracked with all those attractive little boxes of food everywhere.

When I can have local and organic food, I know it’s special. Not always possible, but it really makes a difference. Tomatoes taste better off of my backyard vine, strawberries are sweeter picked from a patch, lettuce is crispy and earthy, and burgers are juicer.

Detail from Local Burger’s lovely mural by Heather Reynolds

Local Burger in Lawrence, KS makes it easy to feel good about the food on your plate. The food comes from local farms, and local vendors. Even the ketchup is local.

Bison, elk, venison, turkey, chicken, all local! And if you want to take some home, you can.

When I’m ready to try red meat again, I’ll be getting it from Local Burger.

I know meal planning can be a challenge. In my world, quick easy take-out meals are essential at times. But even still, I try to be conscious, healthy, and aware of my food.  There’s really nothing quicker than a banana or an apple.  Or a delicious meal from Local Burger.

Today, I had the most amazing turkey burger; even the pickles were special. It was classic: lettuce, tomato, onion, and of course, ketchup. My side salad was tart with vinegar and apples. The service was fast and friendly. Thank you, Jess.

It really is the World’s Most (delightful) Local Burger. At least here in Kansas.

 More detail from Local Burger’s mural by Heather Reynolds

Symphony in the Flint Hills with guest blogger coming next week! Today I used Camera+ for the photos you see here.

Don’t know if you knew this, but Kansas’ state flower is the sunflower! How sunny and cheery. I love it.

